What Are The Different Types Of Special Educational Needs?

Types of Special Educational Needs

  • ADHD.
  • Anxiety.
  • Anorexia.
  • Aphasia.
  • Asperger’s syndrome.
  • Auditory processing disorder.
  • Autistic spectrum disorder.
  • Behavioural difficulties- EBD, SEBD, SEMH.

What are the 4 different categories of special educational needs?

The 0-25 SEND Code of Practice (2015) identifies ‘four broad areas of [special educational] need and support’ (see chapter 6 for detailed descriptions): – Communication and interaction; – Cognition and learning; – Social, emotional and mental health; – Sensory and/or physical needs.

What are the different types of special needs?

Types of Special Needs

  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD).
  • Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD).
  • Behavior Disorders.
  • Cerebral Palsy.
  • Cleft Lip and Palate.
  • Cystic Fibrosis.
  • Down Syndrome.
  • Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders (FASD).

What are the 12 different disabilities of special education?

Types of Disabilities

  • Auditory Impairment (AI)
  • Autism (AU)
  • Deaf-Blindness (DB)
  • Emotional Disturbance (ED)
  • Learning Disability (LD)
  • Intellectual Disability (ID)
  • Multiple Impairments (MI)
  • Orthopedic Impairment (OI)
You might be interested:  Question: How To Make Your Own Educational Website?

What are the 4 areas of need Sen?

The four broad areas of need

  • Communication and interaction.
  • Cognition and learning.
  • Social, emotional and mental health difficulties.
  • Sensory and/or physical needs.

What are the 4 broad areas of send?

The four main SEND areas are: Communication and Interaction. Cognition and Learning. Social, Emotional and Mental Health difficulties.

What are the four types of needs students with learning disabilities may have?

Knowing the basics of some of these special needs can help to better understand those coping and living a successful life with the condition.

  • Physical special needs.
  • Developmental special needs.
  • Behavioral/emotional special needs.
  • Sensory-impaired special needs.

What are the different kinds of special needs in children?

There are four major types of special needs children:

  • Physical – muscular dystrophy, multiple sclerosis, chronic asthma, epilepsy, etc.
  • Developmental – down syndrome, autism, dyslexia, processing disorders.
  • Behavioral/Emotional – ADD, bi-polar, oppositional defiance disorder, etc.

What is the most common type of special needs?

Some of the most common special needs that young children are diagnosed with are: speech and/or language delays, Autism Spectrum Disorder, cognitive delays, social and emotional disorders, and learning differences/disabilities.

What are the 14 categories of disabilities under IDEA?

The majority of IDEA appropriations are allocated to states by formula to carry out activities under Part B, which covers 14 disability categories: (1) autism, (2) deaf-blindness, (3) deafness, (4) emotional disturbance, (5) hearing impairment, (6) intellectual disability, (7) multiple disabilities, (8) orthopedic

What are 14 major types of disability?

There are a total of 14 different terms that a student can be categorized under.

  • Autism.
  • Specific learning disability.
  • Developmental delay.
  • Emotional disturbance.
  • Intellectual disability.
  • Other health impairment.
  • Speech or language impairment.
  • Hearing impairment.
You might be interested:  Question: What Does A Occupational Therapist Help With Educational Needs Of A Child?

Is ADHD a special educational need?

We have worked with numerous children with ADHD. The impact of this difficulty can vary dramatically between children but in all cases results in special educational needs (SEN). In particular, medication and therapies such as talking therapy can significantly cater for the needs.

What are the SEN stages?

The 2014 SEN or SEND code of practice separates SEN into four areas:

  • Communicating and interacting.
  • Cognition and learning.
  • Social, emotional and mental health difficulties.
  • Sensory and/or physical needs.

What is sen category?

SEN Category Descriptors. Communication and interaction. Cognition and learning. Social, emotional and mental health difficulties. Sensory and/or physical needs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Often asked: What Type Of Doctor Does Educational Testing For Learning Disabilities?

Educational Psychologist Provides educational testing. Some trained to provide assessment of cognitive, intellectual functioning as well. Contents1 Who evaluates for learning disabilities?2 What professionals are involved with learning disabilities?3 Who can diagnose specific learning disorder?4 How do I get my child evaluated for learning disabilities?5 How long does it take to get tested for a […]

Often asked: How Old Is The Educational System In The Us?

The first American schools in the thirteen original colonies opened in the 17th century. Boston Latin School was founded in 1635 and is both the first public school and oldest existing school in the United States. Contents1 When did the US education system start?2 How old is the education system?3 When was the school system […]